Regional Representation

International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) Regional logo

The International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) works to support its Member Societies through a Regional Structure. Each region has a Chairman and a Regional Advisory Council (RAC), which has representation from the Committee of National Societies members in that region. 

Goals of the IOF Regional Programme

IOF’s Regional Programme underlines its strong regional structure based on collaboration among the member associations in three designated regions: Asia Pacific (APAC), Middle East and Africa (MEAf), and Latin America (LA).

The goals of the IOF regional programme are to:

  • Support national osteoporosis societies in order to maximize their effectiveness in raising awareness of the need for effective prevention, diagnosis and treatment of osteoporosis
  • Strengthen communication between CNS and the global organization
  • Provide the regions with guidance on building a governance and management structure
  • Create effective synergy between the IOF global office and the regions to enable economies of scale and sharing of resources
  • Assist the regions to acquire the financial, technical and human resources they need
  • Provide each region with equal and effective representation on the IOF Board of Directors
  • Facilitate the development of world class programs within each region

The ultimate aim is to support the capacity of member societies to develop programmes and policies targeted to the specific needs of each region. This assists national societies to serve people with osteoporosis more effectively and strengthens the osteoporosis movement worldwide.

Regional Advisory Councils

The five IOF regions are:

  • Asia -Pacific (APAC)
  • Middle East & Africa (MEAf)
  • North America (NA)
  • Latin America (LA)
  • Europe (Eu)

Elected or interim Regional Advisory Councils are presently established only for APAC, MEAf, and LA.

Asia-Pacific Region 

  • Siok Bee Chionh SP
  • Hiroshi Hagino JP
  • Andrew Ho, HK, CN
  • Ko-En Huang, TW
  • Joon Kiong Lee, MY
  • Sarath Lekamwasam LK
  • Nikil Tandon, IN

Ex-officio IOF Board Members

  • Peter Ebeling AU
  • Ambrish Mithal IN
  • Hajine Orimo JP
  • Ego Seeman AU

Latin American Region

  • CHAIR Osvaldo Messina AR
  • Region Cono Sur (AR, CL, PY, UY): Claudia Campusano CL
  • Brasil:  Bruno Muzzi Camargos BR
  • Region Andina (Co, EC, BO, PE): Dr. Luis Vidal Neira PE
  • Region Caribe (VE, Central America, Caribbean Islands): Sonia Cerdas CR
  • Mexico: Fidencio Cons Molina MX

Ex-officio IOF Board Members

  • José Zanchetta AR
  • Patricia Clark MX
  • Osvaldo Messina AR
  • Cristiano Zerbini BR

Middle East & Africa Region 

  • CHAIR Gemma Adib SY
  • Tobias De Villiers SA
  • Basel Masri JR
  • Jamal Saleh BR
  • Eghbal Taheri IR
  • Leith Zakraoui TU

Ex-officio IOF Board Members

  • Gemma Adib SYR
  • Stephen Hough SA
  • Basel Masri JOR
  • Leith Zakraoui TUN